36 lakh domestic consumers and 7 lakh farmers get zero-value electricity bills: Chief Minister


Jaipur, June 4. Chief Minister Mr Ashok Gehlot said over 1.25 crore farmers and domestic electricity consumers have been benefitted by various schemes under which subsidies of Rs 1044 crore have been given by the State Government. Electricity bills of about 43 lakh consumers have now become zero. Power supply in the state has become smooth due to proactive and efficient management of the State Government.

Mr Gehlot was addressing the review meeting of the Energy Department at the Chief Minister's residence on Saturday. He said that the power supply remained normal despite scorching heat in the state. Now sufficient power is available in the State for supply according to demand for June and July.

The Chief Minister said that under the Mukhyamantri Kisan Mitra Yojana, which was run to provide financial relief to farmers, subsidy of Rs 291.54 crore has been given to over 12.66 lakh farmers on agricultural electricity connections. To give relief in electricity bills to more than 1.15 crore domestic consumers of the state, subsidy of Rs 752.58 crore has been given under the Chief Minister's Household Electricity Grant Scheme. Due to this, the electricity bills of about 36 lakh domestic consumers and 7 lakh farmers has become zero.

Expressing concern over the problems being faced in coal supply, Shri Gehlot said that the State Government is making every effort to resolve it at the earliest by talking to the Centre.

The Chief Minister said that at present the work of irrigation of crops is going on in many districts of the state. Keeping in view the need of irrigation, adequate supply of electricity should be ensured to the farmers so that the crops get enough water.

Mr Gehlot said that by 2024, 4.88 lakh farmers in the state would be given new agricultural electricity connections in a phased manner. He directed to release the pending agricultural electricity connection applications in the state at the earliest to provide relief to the farmers.

Minister of State for Power Mr Bhanwar Singh Bhati, Chief Secretary Smt. Usha Sharma, Principal Secretary Finance Mr Akhil Arora, Principal Secretary Energy Mr Bhaskar A Sawant, RVPNL CMD Mr T Ravikant, RVUNL CMD Mr R K Sharma, Adviser to the Energy Department, MrA K Gupta and other senior officials of the Energy Department were present.