Jodpur, Monday, 05 July .


            A grand Commemorative event was conducted at the prestigious Jodhpur War Memorial which was attended by Lieutenant General P S Minhas, General Officer Commanding, Konark Corps, Veterans and other Military and Civil dignitaries of Jodhpur.

            The event commenced at 6.30 a.m as the Victory Flame reached War Memorial, Jodhpur escorted by Konark Corps Torch Relay Team after a one mile run.

            The victory flame was received by the Stn Cdr, Brig SP Sinha, followed by Wreath laying ceremony which included the senior most veteran Col Babu Khan S, SM, L Nk Sona Ram, Air Cdre Prajual Singh, VM, Maj Gen Sameer Kalla, VSM GOC JOSA and Lt Gen PS Minhas GOC Konark Corps

            Nine war veterans were also felicitated on the occassion and the solemn event concluded with a motivating address by the Corps Cdr.

            After the event the Victory flame was taken to Headquarters Border Security Force.

            In its journey along all four cardinal directions, to connect with the War Heroes of 1971 Indo Pak War, the Swarnim Vijay Varsh Victory Flame reached Jodhpur on 03 July 2021. The Victory Flame was taken to the historical monuments 'Mehrangarh Fort' and 'Umaid Bhawan' on 04 July. The flame was also taken to Regiments of Indian Army at Jodhpur, where it was honoured by all ranks.

            The Victory Flame will be taken to residence/village of Late Air Vice Marshal Chandan Singh, Mahavir Chakra, Ati Vishishtha Seva Medal, Vir

            Chakra, Vishisht Seva Medal at Jodhpur on 05 July 2021, Late Lieutenant Colonel Megh Singh, Vir Chakra at Jodhpur on 06 July 2021, Late Grenadier Mangal Singh, Vir Chakra at Nimboo ka Talaab, Osian on 07 July 2021 and Late Brigadier Udai Singh Bhati, Vir Chakra at Garha, Shergarh on 08 July 2021. At all these places, the Gallantry Award Winners will be honoured and soil of their home will be collected.

            The Victory Flame will also visit the Air Force Station, Jodhpur on 06 July 2021. The Martyrs or war heroes of 1971 war of Indian Air Force and the Victory Flame will be honoured. The Victory Flame will depart to Jaisalmer on 08 Jul 2021.